The Pacific Community (SPC) is now establishing a regional multi-stakeholder Climate Smart Agriculture (CSA) network among interested countries and territories for knowledge exchange and sharing information, experiences and technical skills in climate smart agriculture and to be supported by FAO subregional program for CSA. It is intended to ultimately become a CSA Alliance for the Pacific region, with the engagement of other regional stakeholders.


Goals and Objectives:

The SPC CSA network is established to promote the use of CSA as an approach to achieving sustainable agriculture by improving the adaptive capacity of member countries to climate change and enhance the resilience of major crops food production systems in the region.

CSA will also be used as a platform for countries to commit to establishing and achieving NDCs through climate smart agriculture.


The members will ultimately be the 22 SPC member countries (Public and Private sectors). Currently CSA communities have been established in four countries. The network will look to enhance public and private sector partnership in the network.


A regional steering committee will be set up – structure (Research and Extension and operate under the umbrella of PIRAS and link to the upcoming Pacific Soil Portal and PAIS) will be determined and secretariat will be provided by SPC LRD
A sub-regional working group to coordinate sub-regions of Melanesia, Polynesia and Micronesia will be set up.
Annual meeting convened under PIRAS annual meeting

2018 Planned Activities:

With FAO Sub regional Office organized CSA workshops and set up CSA communities in the countries. The 1st will be in Tonga end of January 2017 and from there other countries.


Contact Persons:

Siosiua Halavatau, Crop Production and Extension Coordinator, SPC LRD This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Gibson Susumu, Extension Specialist, SPC LRD This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.




Reports on the establishment of CSA communities in the four countries so far – Tonga, Kiribati, Tuvalu and Marshall Islands.